This picture of Tapestries, in Straight Road, was taken before the first world war, but it still looks very much the same today. It was built in 1882 to house the Royal Windsor Tapestry Manufactory which had begun in 1876 at Manor Lodge opposite. Between then and its closure at Christmas 1890 it turned out many magnificient tapestries, some still in the royal collection. The weavers came to Old Windsor in 1876 from Aubusson, France. In 1890 some of them migrated to New York.